Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Just Six Territories Remain On EU's Tax Blacklist

by Ulrika Lomas, Lowtax.net, Brussels
04 October, 2018

The EU has removed Palau from its list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions.

The European Council said that the EU's experts have assessed the commitments made by Palau to address the EU's concerns about its tax regime. It has now decided to move Palau from annex I of the list (the blacklist) to annex II, the so-called grey list of jurisdictions that have committed to reforming their tax systems and are subject to close monitoring.

The Council working group responsible for the listing process will carefully monitor the implementation of Palau's commitments.

The European Council has also agreed to remove Liechtenstein and Peru from annex II of the list. It said that they have completed the necessary reforms to comply with the EU's good tax governance principles.

The original list, announced in December 2017, contained 17 jurisdictions. Six jurisdictions remain on the list: American Samoa, Guam, Namibia, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, and the US Virgin Islands.

See all of today's news


News Archive

Event Listings

Listings for the leading worldwide conferences and events in accounting, investment, banking and finance, transfer pricing, corporate taxation and more...
See Event Listings »