Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Belize Removed From EU's Tax Blacklist

by Ulrika Lomas, Lowtax.net, Brussels
15 November, 2019

The EU has removed Belize from its list of non-cooperative tax jurisdictions and Macedonia from its "grey list."

The European Council said that Belize has passed the reforms considered necessary to improve its tax regime for international business companies. As a result, Belize will be moved to the "grey list" of jurisdictions cooperating with the EU to reform its tax policies. The Council said that this is pending the implementation of Belize's commitment to amend or abolish the harmful features of its foreign source income exemption regime by the end of this year.

The Council also said that the Republic of North Macedonia is now compliant with all of its commitments on tax cooperation, following its ratification of the OECD multilateral convention on mutual administrative assistance. It has been removed from the grey list.

The original list was released in December 2017 and contained 17 jurisdictions. Following the latest changes there are now eight jurisdictions on the blacklist: American Samoa, Fiji, Guam, Oman, Samoa, Trinidad and Tobago, the US Virgin Islands, and Vanuatu.

See all of today's news


News Archive

Event Listings

Listings for the leading worldwide conferences and events in accounting, investment, banking and finance, transfer pricing, corporate taxation and more...
See Event Listings »