Lowtax Network

Back To Top

13 States Sign Up To OECD's New Tax Info Exchange Standard

by Mike Godfrey, Lowtax.net, Washington
03 November, 2015

Thirteen jurisdictions signed the OECD Multilateral Competent Authority Agreement (MCAA) at a meeting on October 29-30, 2015, in Barbados.

In joining the MCAA, the territories commit to automatically exchange tax information with other nations' tax authorities under the OECD's new tax information exchange standard, the Common Reporting Standard. A total of 74 territories have now signed up to the deal.

In Bridgetown, Barbados, the following territories added their name to this list: Antigua and Barbuda; Barbados; Belize; Bulgaria; the Cook Islands; Grenada; Japan; the Marshall Islands; Niue; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Saint Marteen; and Samoa.

Panama and the Cook Islands committed to automatically exchange information by 2017 or 2018, bringing the total number of jurisdictions that have made such a commitment to 96.

The OECD said: "With these commitments, all major financial centers are now part of the efforts to enhance international tax cooperation."

See all of today's news


News Archive

Event Listings

Listings for the leading worldwide conferences and events in accounting, investment, banking and finance, transfer pricing, corporate taxation and more...
See Event Listings »