Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Vanuatu: Country and Foreign Investment


Vanuatu gained its independence from Britain and France, which had jointly ruled the chain, in 1980. It has a unicameral Parliament with members elected by popular vote to serve four-year terms. The Prime Minister is elected from the Parliament by its members, and appoints the Council of Ministers. An Electoral College consisting of Parliament and the presidents of the regional councils elects the President for a five-year term. The constitution also provides for a National Council of Chiefs, which advises on matters of custom and land.

The Supreme Court is comprised of a chief justice, appointed by the President after consultation with the Prime Minister and the leader of the opposition, and three other justices appointed by the President on the advice of the Judicial Service Commission. The legal system in Vanuatu is based on English Common Law with some influence from the French Civil System. Pre-constitution British and French law continues unless specifically revoked or is otherwise incompatible with Vanuatu 's constitution.

The US ambassador to Papua New Guinea is accredited to Vanuatu. Britain is represented through the British High Commission and France through the French Embassy. Australia and New Zealand have High Commissions and China has an embassy. Vanuatu has a Permanent Mission to the United Nations.



Back to Vanuatu Index »