Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Slovakia: Country and Foreign Investment

Entry and Residence

Slovakia is part of the EU's Schengen Area, meaning that there is visa-free movement within Schengen of nationals of all those EU Member States belonging to the area. Moreover, citizens of EU Member States and of a number of non-EU countries do not require a visa for visits of up to 90 days within a six-month period from the day of arrival.

Citizens of other countries who do not benefit from visa-free movement within the Schengen Area, and who are visiting Slovakia on a short-term stay for the purposes of tourism, must have a visa to enter the country. The maximum length of a short-term stay in the Slovak Republic must not exceed a total period of 180 days. The visa may be applied for at any embassy or consular office of the Slovak Republic abroad

Foreigners must obtain a residence permit if they wish to remain in the country for more than 90 days within a six-month period from the day of arrival in Slovakia.

For tax purposes, residency applies to anyone whose permanent place of residence is in Slovakia, or who spends more than 183 days in Slovakia during a year.



Back to Slovakia Index raquo;