Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Singapore: Personal Taxation

Stamp Duty

Stamp duty is payable on certain executed documents relating to properties and shares, or interest in properties and shares. Such documents include a lease, sale, purchase, gift or mortgage of property. Liability arises once the document is executed, even if the transaction itself has been aborted.

There are three types of stamp duty: buyer’s, additional buyer’s and seller’s stamp duty. From 20 February 2018, the top marginal buyer’s stamp duty rate for acquiring non-residential properties is 3%; that for residential properties is 4%.

The amount of duty payable varies according to the transaction. For example, in the case of a mortgage, stamp duty is SGD4 for every SGD1,000 or part thereof, subject to a maximum duty payable of SGD500.



Back to Singapore Index »