Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Singapore: Country and Foreign Investment


The government of Singapore is a parliamentary republic. The unicameral parliament comprises 84 seats, to which members are elected by popular vote for five-year terms.

The president, who is head of state, is elected by popular vote for a term of six years; the current president is Tony Tan Ken Yam. The president usually appoints the leader of the majority party or of a majority coalition as prime minister, who is head of government. The current prime minister is Lee Hsien Loong. The president also appoints the deputy prime ministers and the cabinet. The next elections are due to be held in August, 2017.

The legal system is based on English common law, and is executed by the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, and the Subordinate Courts.



Back to Singapore Index »