Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Seychelles: Country and Foreign Investment


The Seychelles is an independent republic and a member of the Commonwealth. Under the constitution of 1979, a unicameral People's Assembly, comprising 34 seats (25 elected by popular vote, nine allocated on a proportional basis to parties winning at least 10% of the vote) is elected for a term of five years. Reforms to the constitution implemented in 1993 made way for a multiparty system after a long period of one-party rule. General elections scheduled for 2012 were brought forward to September, 2011, when the previous parliament was dissolved due to opposition parties blocking parliamentary proceedings. The outcome of the elections has resulted in a one-party landslide, one of the reasons for which is the boycotting of the elections by the two opposition parties. As a result, the People's Party gained all of the 25 seats plus six of the proportional allocation.

The Executive President is elected for a five year term and may be re-elected three times. Elections in July 2006, resulted in a 53.7% majority for James Michel, who was Vice-President to France Albert Renee who had been in office since 1977 and stepped down in 2004. Michel was re-elected to the presidency in May 2011. The Cabinet of 13 Ministers is appointed by the President who is the chief of state and head of government. The next presidential election is due to be held in 2016.

The legal system originated from French civil law, but most modern criminal and business legislation is closer to Anglo-Saxon common law practice. There are magistrates' courts, a Supreme Court, and a Court of Appeal.

Seychelles is a member of the Commonwealth, the UN, the OAU, and the Non-Aligned Movement, as well as a large number of other international bodies.



Back to Seychelles Index raquo;