Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Saint Kitts: Country and Foreign Investment


Since gaining independence in 1983, Saint Kitts and Nevis has been an independent participant of the British Commonwealth. Unlike most other English speaking Caribbean jurisdictions, it is neither a dependency, nor a crown colony of Britain. The Federation has its own representation at the United Nations.

Saint Kitts and Nevis is a constitutional monarchy with a Westminster-style parliament. The Head of State is Queen Elizabeth II (since 6 February 1952), represented by Governor General Cuthbert Montraville Sebastian (since 1 January 1996). The governor general is appointed by the monarch; following legislative elections; the leader of the majority party or leader of a majority coalition is usually appointed prime minister by the governor general; the deputy prime minister is appointed by the governor general in cabinet: the cabinet is appointed by the governor general in consultation with the prime minister.

The head of government is Prime Minister Dr. Denzil Douglas since 6 July 1995 and the Deputy Prime Minister is Sam Condor.

The unicameral National Assembly has 14 seats, 3 appointed and 11 popularly elected from single-member constituencies. Members serve five-year terms. Elections were last held in January, 2010.

The legal system is largely based on English Common Law, and appeal is to the East Caribbean Supreme Court in St Lucia.



Back to Saint Kitts Index »