Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Qatar: Country and Foreign Investment

Government and Judiciary

The government of Qatar is based on a traditional monarchy, whereby the Emir (presently Amir Tamim bin Hamad Al-Thani) is head of state. The Prime Minister is Abdallah bin Nasir bin Khalifa Al-Thani and the Deputy Prime Minister is Ahmad bin Abdallah al-Mahmud.
The Emir is assisted by the Council of Ministers, which is responsible for proposing draft laws and regulations; carrying out State policies; and monitoring execution of the law and legal judgments, and of State expenditure.

The Advisory Council (Majlis al-Shura) consists of 45 members, 30 of whom are elected, and 15 appointed. The Advisory Council members debate public-interest matters submitted to them by the Council of Ministers; the Advisory Council’s views and recommendations are usually taken into account by the Emir before making a final decision on policy.
In 2013 Qatar had its first legislative elections; 30 members were elected by the public and 15 members were appointed by the Emir. 

Qatar is divided into nine municipalities: Ad Dawhah, Al Ghuwayriyah, Al Jumayliyah, Al Khawr, Al Wakrah, Ar Rayyan, Jarayan al Batinah, Madinat ash Shamal, and Umm Salal. In addition, Mesaieed is managed separately by the Mesaieed Industrial City, a subsidiary of Qatar Petroleum.

Until October 2004, Qatari laws operated on a two-tier system: Sharia law was administered at the local level, while the civil courts operated on the English model. A new unifying law has since come into force, under which the Court of Cassation was established to hear appeals. Islamic Sharia is the principal source of legislation.



Back to Qatar Index »