Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Qatar: Country and Foreign Investment


This page was last updated on 23 September 2020.

Qatar consists of a peninsula jutting north into the Persian Gulf and some nearby islets. It borders with Saudi Arabia to the south and the United Arab Emirates to the southeast; the island of Bahrain lies to the northwest. Iran lies north across the Gulf.

The climate is mild in winter (October-April), but intensely hot and at times humid in the summer months, with temperatures sometimes exceeding 55°C. Rainfall occurs mostly in the winter months and is very slight, averaging only 100mm per year. The peninsula is occasionally prone to violent dust storms. Qatar’s water supply mainly comes from desalinated seawater.

The terrain is largely flat, rocky desert with shifting sands, and with salt flats around the coast. The limestone hills in the north and west of the country reach an altitude of 40m (130 feet), while huge sand dunes are a characteristic of the southeast and continue to move southward in the prevailing winds. Agriculture is concentrated where the rainwater-draining basins are in the north and central areas.

The capital city is Doha; together with Ar-Rayyan and its other suburbs, the city accounts for more than half of Qatar’s population. Doha is one of five ports, the others being Umm Said, Al-Khor, Al-Wakrah and Ras Laffan.



Back to Qatar Index »