Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Qatar: Country and Foreign Investment

Entry and Residence

Generally, it is necessary to obtain a business or tourist visa to enter Qatar; however, nationals of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates, and transit passengers whose tickets show that they intend to continue their journey from the airport within eight hours, are exempt from this requirement.

Nationals of the following countries can obtain a visa upon arrival in Qatar: Andorra, Australia, Brunei, Canada, the EU, Hong Kong SAR, Japan, South Korea, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, New Zealand, San Marino, Singapore, Switzerland, and the USA.

Nationals of other countries must apply to the Immigration Department in Doha. The application must include a letter of invitation from someone who is legally living in Qatar, or have their visa request authorized by a tour agency.

Further details are available from the Qatar Government website.

Visas are generally granted for two weeks, although certain country nationals can extend their stay to up to three months.

Work and residence permits must be obtained for those seeking to reside in Qatar; it is also essential for permanent residents to obtain an identity card.

Those working in Qatar who wish to leave the country (e.g. for a vacation) must obtain an exit visa to do so.

Foreigners – and especially non-Muslims – are generally not granted citizenship in Qatar. Children of foreigners born in Qatar automatically assume the parents’ nationality; however, if one parent is a Qatari national, the child is usually granted local nationality.



Back to Qatar Index »