Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Portugal: Country and Foreign Investment


The Portuguese Republic consists of Continental Portugal, located in the Iberian Peninsula, and two Autonomous Regions in the Atlantic Ocean (the archipelagos of Madeira and the Azores).

The northern part of Portugal is rugged and mountainous, whereas the portion to the south of the Tagus river consists more of rolling hills and valleys. There are also plains in the south, characterised by figs trees, olive trees and vineyards. Portugal is also home to many Cork Oaks and is responsible for approximately 50% of cork used across the world.

The Azores are spread across more than 3oo miles of the Atlantic and consist of nine islands. Mount Pico, the highest mountain in Portugal, is located on the island of Pico. Madeira consits of 2 inhabited Islands and numerous uninhabited Islands and Islets.



Back to Portugal Index »