Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

New Zealand: Country and Foreign Investment


New Zealand is a remote island country in the south-western Pacific, situated about 2,000 km south-east of Australia across the Tasman Sea. Its closest neighbours to the north are New Caledonia, Fiji and Tonga, with Antarctica to the south.

The country comprises two main islands – the North and South islands – and a number of small islands. New Zealand also includes the Cook Islands and Niue (self-governing but in free association); the island group of Tokelau; and the Ross Dependency (New Zealand's territorial claim in Antarctica).

The country’s total area is 268,000 sq km, a little larger than the United Kingdom. About two-thirds of the land is economically useful, the remainder being mountainous.

The climate throughout the country is mild and temperate, mainly maritime, with temperatures rarely falling below 0°C.

The capital city is Wellington, located on the North Island.



Back to New Zealand Index »