Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Netherlands: Country and Foreign Investment

Executive Summary

The Netherlands is situated in western Europe and is bordered by Belgium to the south and Germany to the east. It also shares a maritime border with the United Kingdom. The population of the Netherlands is estimated to be 16.8 million people, spread over 41,500 sq km. The official language is Dutch, while Frisian also has almost half a million speakers.

The government of the Netherlands consists of the King and a number of cabinet ministers. The King's role is largely ceremonial, where he is responsible for the official formation of government and signing of laws. Mark Rutte has been the Prime Minister of the Netherlands since October 2010, and King Willem-Alexander has been the monarch since the abdication of Queen Beatrix on 30 April 2013.

The Dutch economy is the sixth-largest economy in the euro-zone. The unemployment rate for 2013 was 6.8% - a 28% increase from the figure of 5.3% in 2012. The inflation rate for 2013 was 2.8%.

The Kingdom of the Netherlands consists of four parts - the Netherlands, Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten. The Netherlands also has special municipalities in the Caribbean Sea, including the islands of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius, and Saba.



Back to Netherlands Index »