Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Mauritius: Country and Foreign Investment


Mauritius lies in the southern Indian Ocean to the east of Madagascar; it became a republic in 1992 and comprises four islands: Mauritius, Rodrigues, Saint Brandon, and Agalega. With the exception of its coral reefs and beaches, the land area of 710 square miles (1,865 sq km.) is of volcanic origin. The other islands comprise another 67 square miles (175 sq km.) of land area. About 90% of the cultivated land area is devoted to sugar cane.

The climate is defined as sub-tropical; winter temperatures average between 17 C and 24 C and summer temperatures between 24 C and 30 C. Rainfall in summer (November to May) averages 51" (140mm) per month. Therefore, humidity levels rarely dip below 60%, peaking at 70% plus from February to April when the rainfall is highest. Winter rainfall averages 2" (50mm) per month with humidity levels around 60%.

The time zone is 4 hours ahead of GMT, 9 hours ahead of EST. Mauritius is served by SSR International Airport at Plaisance, which is 45 kilometres south east from the capital Port Louis; ten international airlines operate from here. Port Louis, the capital, is the only port and is served by 25 international shipping lines.



Back to Mauritius Index »