Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Madeira: Double Tax Treaties


This page was last updated on 16 Oct 2018.

As part of Portugal, Madeira has access to the substantial number of tax treaties entered into by the mother country. Generally speaking, the treaty benefits are available to all Madeiran companies. However, Madeiran companies in the International Business Centre licensed under the Free Trade Zone Legislation are able to remit interest, dividends and royalties to non-residents without the imposition of withholding tax, so that treaty benefits in that instance are not needed.

The participation exemption available under the EU Parent/Subsidiary Directive No. 90/435 also overrides treaty benefits: any company in the EU owning 10% or more of another company and having done so for one year or since incorporation may receive income from it without withholding tax applying. Among Madeiran companies, only the mixed holding company is sometimes unable to take advantage of the Directive  - because many countries consider that it does not pay enough tax.

See Withholding Taxes for details of rates chargeable for non-Free Trade Zone companies when there is no treaty.


Latest Portugal Treaty Updates

Treaty Update: Angola - Portugal
08 October, 2018
On September 18, 2018, Angola and Portugal signed a DTA.
Treaty Update: India - Portugal
02 October, 2018
On August 8, 2018, the amending protocol to the DTA between India and Portugal entered into force.
Treaty Update: Kenya - Portugal
18 July, 2018
On July 10, 2018, officials from Kenya and Portugal signed a DTA.
Treaty Update: Finland - Portugal
20 April, 2018
Finland is proposing to terminate its existing DTA with Portugal at the start of 2019, should Portugal fail to ratify a replacement DTA negotiated between the two states.
Treaty Update: Guernsey - Portugal
05 March, 2018
Guernsey's TIEA with Portugal will enter into force March 15, 2018, according to a February 20, 2018, update from the Guernsey Government.
Treaty Update: Spain - Portugal
02 November, 2017
Spain and Portugal signed a DTA on October 18, 2017.
Treaty Update: India - Portugal
29 June, 2017
A DTA Protocol has been signed between India and Portugal, the Indian Government announced on June 23, 2017.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Saint Kitts and Nevis
16 February, 2017
Portugal completed its domestic ratification procedures in respect of the TIEA signed with Saint Kitts and Nevis on February 2, 2017.
Treaty Update: Finland - Portugal
16 November, 2016
Portugal and Finland signed a DTA on November 7.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Andorra
03 October, 2016
Portugal's Council of Ministers on September 22, 2016, approved the DTA with Andorra.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Various
03 August, 2016
On July 18, 2016, Portugal completed its domestic ratification procedures in respect of the DTAs signed with Oman and Saudi Arabia.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Senegal
16 March, 2016
According to preliminary media reports, the DTA between Portugal and Senegal will enter into force on March 20, 2016.
Treaty Update: Andorra - Portugal
01 October, 2015
Andorra and Portugal signed a DTA on September 27, 2015.
Treaty Update: Oman - Portugal
09 July, 2015
According to preliminary media reports, Oman on July 2, 2015, ratified the DTA signed with Portugal.
Treaty Update: Bahrain - Portugal
04 June, 2015
Bahrain and Portugal signed a DTA on May 26, 2015.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Saudi Arabia
17 April, 2015
Portugal and Saudi Arabia signed a DTA on April 8, 2015.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Georgia
13 March, 2015
Portugal published Decree 24 of 2015 in its Official Gazette on March 5, 2015, ratifying the DTA signed with Georgia.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Colombia
05 February, 2015
The DTA between Portugal and Colombia came into force on January 30, 2015, and will be effective from January 1, 2016.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Croatia
19 January, 2015
The DTA with Croatia has been ratified by Decree 6/2015 signed by the Portuguese President on January 5, 2015.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Various
18 November, 2014
Portugal ratified its DTAs with Barbados, Ethiopia, San Marino, and Senegal on November 6, 2014.
Treaty Update: Senegal - Portugal
17 June, 2014
According to preliminary media reports, Senegal and Portugal signed a DTA during two days of meetings concluding on June 13, 2014.
Treaty Update: Portugal - Peru
14 April, 2014
The DTA between Portugal and Peru entered into force on April 12, 2014.
Treaty Update: Singapore - Portugal
28 November, 2013
The DTA Protocol signed between Singapore and Portugal will enter into force on December 26, 2013, Singapore's Ministry of Finance has confirmed.
Treaty Update: Cyprus - Portugal
14 November, 2013
The DTA signed between Cyprus and Portugal will become effective from January 1, 2014, following the entry into force of the agreement on August 16, 2013.
Treaty Update: Montenegro - Portugal
22 October, 2013
According to preliminary media reports, Montenegro and Portugal have concluded a first round towards the negotiation of a double tax agreement.
More on TreatyPro.com



Back to Madeira Index »