Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Lithuania: Country and Foreign Investment

Entry and Residence

Lithuania is part of the EU's Schengen Area, meaning that there is visa-free movement within Schengen of nationals of all those EU Member States belonging to the area.

Lithuanian residence permits are issued to nationals of other Schengen countries subject to some conditions, including availability of sickness insurance, “adequate means of subsistence”, and a place to stay.

Temporary residence permits and entry visas for non-EU residents are still available but are more costly following the imposition of Schengen border controls.

For tax purposes, residency applies to anyone whose permanent place of residence or whose centre of personal and economic interests is in Lithuania, or who spends more than 183 days in Lithuania during a year, or more than 280 days over two years.



Back to Lithuania Index »