Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Liberia: Country and Foreign Investment


This page was last updated on 9 April 2021.

Liberia has a republican form of government which is modelled on that of the USA.  There are three equal and coordinated branches with separation of powers; these theoretically provide checks and balances. The leader of the executive branch is the president, who can serve for a maximum of two six-year terms. The president is the head of government, leader of the executive and commander-in-chief of the armed forces.

The legislature consists of the Senate and the House of Representatives. The House of Representatives comprises 64 members who, like the president, are elected by popular vote for six-year terms. The Senate consists of 30 senators elected by popular vote to serve nine-year terms.

The judiciary includes the Supreme Court led by a chief justice and four associate justices, appointed by the president on the approval of the Senate. The judiciary also consists of circuit courts (one in each county), and several courts of record and courts not of record.

Liberia has a dual system of statutory law arising from Anglo-American common law and customary law based on unwritten tribal practices; both are subject to the constitution. There have been increasing calls for the harmonisation of statutory and customary law in light of the constitutional provisions of equality before the law and equal protection of the law. Many of Liberia’s statutory laws are based on those of the USA and can be found in the Liberian Code of Laws Revised 1972, and amending acts.



Back to Liberia Index »