Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Latvia: Country and Foreign Investment


Latvia is a parliamentary democracy. It has a unicameral parliament (the Saeima) with 100 members who are elected by direct, popular vote to serve four-year terms.

The President is elected by the Saeima for a four-year term; the current President is Valdis Zatlers, who was elected on May 31, 2007. The Prime Minister is also elected by the Saeima; the current Prime Minister is Valdis Dombrovskis, who was elected on March 12, 2009.

The Cabinet of Ministers is nominated by the Prime Minister, and must receive a confidence vote by the Saeima before it can start exercising its duties.



Back to Latvia Index »