Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Latvia: Country and Foreign Investment


An Eastern European state, Latvia is one of the three Baltic States, the others being Estonia (to the north) and Lithuania (to the south). Latvia also borders Russia and Belarus to the east, and has a sandy 531 km coastline with the Baltic Sea and a total land area of 64,589 sq km.

The terrain is mostly low plain, with the highest point at 312 metres above sea level. Natural resources include peat, gypsum, clay, dolomite, limestone, amber and woodland; arable farming makes up around 27% of land use. However, Latvia’s wet climate means that agricultural land requires drainage.

The capital is Riga, which is also one of Latvia’s three major ports; Liepaja and Ventspils are the other two.



Back to Latvia Index »