Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Isle of Man: Double Tax Treaties

Other International Agreements

This page was last updated on 2 March 2020.

The Isle of Man has tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs) in force with a total of 60 countries, as detailed in the table below, together with the year in which the TIEA in question became effective

Country Year Effective Country Year Effective
Argentina 2013 Ireland 2008
Australia 2010 Italy 2015
Bermuda 2020 Japan 2012
Botswana 2016 Lesotho 2015
British Virgin Is. 2016 Mexico 2012
Canada 2011 Netherlands 2006
Cayman Is. 2016 New Zealand 2010
China 2012 Norway 2008
Czech Republic 2012 Poland 2011
Denmark 2008 Portugal 2012
Faroe Is. 2008 Romania 2016
Finland 2008 Slovenia 2012
France 2010 Sweden 2008
Germany 2010 Switzerland 2014
Gibraltar 2020 Turkey 2017
Greenland 2008 Turks & Caicos Is. 2016
Iceland 2008 United Kingdom 2009
India 2011 United States 2004
Indonesia 2014

TIEAs has been signed but not yet ratified with Anguilla, Eswatini (the new name for Swaziland) and Spain.

The Isle of Man was one of the first territories to make a clear commitment to OECD standards on tax cooperation in 2000 and was recognised by the OECD as a ‘committed jurisdiction’ in 2001.

On 3 April 2009, the Manx government released a statement welcoming the island’s inclusion on the OECD ‘whitelist’ of countries complying with the global standard for tax co-operation and exchange of information.

The list, produced following the G20 summit in London, places the Isle of Man in the top tier of jurisdictions – along with nations such as the UK, USA, Germany, France, Sweden and Ireland – that have ‘substantially implemented the internationally agreed tax standard.’

A tax information exchange agreement (TIEA) and an arrangement amending the 1955 double taxation arrangement between the UK and the Isle of Man, signed in Douglas on 29 September 2008, entered into force on 2 April 2009. The provisions of the TIEA also took effect in the UK and the Isle of Man on 2 April 2009.

The agreement amends the provisions of the 1955 double taxation treaty by adding provisions on the taxation of income from pensions and a mutual agreement procedure.

Under the revised agreement, many pensions paid from the United Kingdom to people living in the Isle of Man are taxed in the Isle of Man only.

In addition taxpayers have new rights under the agreement to ask one government to intervene in order to resolve problems arising from the application of the agreement.

There are also two other agreements in force between the Isle of Man and other countries. An “agreement for allocation of taxing rights with respect to certain income of individuals” with Australia and an “agreement for the allocation of taxing rights with respect to certain income of individuals and to establish a mutual agreement procedure in respect of transfer pricing adjustments” with New Zealand.



Back to Isle of Man Index »