Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Hungary: Country and Foreign Investment


Hungary is a parliamentary republic. The President is the head of state; he is elected by popular vote for a five-year term; Laszlo Solyom has held the post since June 2005. The head of government is the Prime Minister, appointed by the president on the approval of parliament; this has been Viktor Orban since 29 May, 2010. The executive power is exercised by the government, and the legislative power is vested in both the government and parliament. The judiciary is independent of the executive and the legislature.

The unicameral National Assembly has 386 members. 176 of the members are elected from local constituencies, 120 on a proportional basis from county lists, and the remaining 90 are elected from national lists drawn up by the competing parties.

Hungary has a civil law system, and the supreme law of Hungary is the Constitution.



Back to Hungary Index »