Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Hungary: Country and Foreign Investment


This page was last updated on 4 December 2019.

Hungary is a landlocked country in central Europe with an area of 93,028 km2. It has borders with seven countries – clockwise from the north: Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria.

Hungary is bisected by the River Danube, which runs from north to south. There are three major geographical regions: the Great Hungarian Plain or Alföld to the east of the Danube, Transdanubia, a hilly region to the west of the river and the northern hills. The highest point is Kékes (1,014m) in the Mátra Mountains. The lowest point is near Szeged (77m), in the south.

The climate in Hungary is continental, with hot summers and cold winters. In Budapest, the average temperature is -1°C (30°F) in January and 27°C (79°F) in July. The capital, Budapest, is by far the largest city. Other than the Danube, the longest river is the Tisza (Tisa), one of its tributaries.



Back to Hungary Index »