Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Guernsey: Country and Foreign Investment


The Bailiwick of Guernsey is in the Gulf of St. Malo in the English Channel, west of the Cotentin peninsula on the French mainland. The Bailiwick is divided into three jurisdictions:

  1. The main island of Guernsey, which lies 42km (26 miles) northwest of Jersey and 48km (30 miles) east of the coast of Normandy. The small island of Herm lies to the east, together with the islets of Jethou and Crevichon; the islet of Lihou lies to the west.
  2. Sark, which is 19 km (12 miles) east-south-east of Guernsey, and the islet of Brecqhou.
  3. Alderney – which lies 37 km (23 miles) north-east of Guernsey and only 13 km (8 miles) west of France – and the islets of Burhou and Les Casquets.

Guernsey itself has an area of 65 km2 (25 sq. miles), slightly smaller than Jersey. It is roughly triangular in shape and by far the largest of the islands – the area of the entire Bailiwick is 78 km2 (30 sq. miles).

Guernsey rises in steps from a plateau in the north to ragged cliffs about 90 metres (295 ft) above sea level. It is drained mainly by northward-flowing streams into deeply-incised valleys. In the low-lying north, the soil is made up of blown sand, raised beach deposits and the fill of old lagoons.

Guernsey enjoys a temperate maritime climate; snow and severe frost are rare. Annual rainfall is between 750 and 900 mm, though water on the island is still in short supply sometimes and has to be supplemented by seawater distillation. The main town is St Peter Port, which has the character of a traditional fishing village, and is overlooked by Castle Cornet.



Back to Guernsey Index »