Lowtax Network

Back To Top

France: Country and Foreign Investment


France is the largest country in the European Union. Metropolitan France is divided into 13 regions, which subdivide into 96 départments. Outside Europe, there are 5 overseas regions which also belong to France. It is one of only three countries (along with Morocco and Spain) to have both Atlantic and Mediterranean coastlines. The country is often referred to in French as l’Hexagone - the six sides are made up of the English Channel, the Bay of Biscay, the Pyrenees, the Mediterranean Sea, the Alps and Rivière and the land border with Belgium, Luxembourg and Germany.

France has a variable climate and topography, with a temperate zone in the north, a continental zone in the middle, a Mediterranean zone in the south (le Midi), and a mountainous Alpine climate in the east. There are still unspoilt areas, beautiful villages seemingly untouched by time. France also has some of the most diverse forests in Europe, with 28% of the country's land area covered by more than 140 species of trees.



Back to France Index »