Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Czech Republic: Country and Foreign Investment


The Czech constitution divides the state into three administrative divisions: a two-tier legislative assembly, an Executive, and the Judiciary.

The legislative assembly, or parliament, is formed of the lower Chamber of Deputies and the upper Senate; members of both of these chambers are elected by the public. The Chamber of Deputies has 200 members elected for a term of four years. The Senate has 81 members who are elected for a term of six years. The main political parties are the Civic Democratic Party, the Social Democratic Party, and the Christian and Democratic Union (or Czechoslovak People’s Party).

The Executive is composed of the Prime Minister and his ministers and is the supreme political entity in the country. The Prime Minister is appointed by the President, who also appoints ministers, and these ministers form the government of the Czech Republic. The Judiciary is the third and final tier of power and is administered by independent courts.

Petr Necas is the current Prime Minister of the Czech Republic (28 June 2010) and the current President is Vaclav Klaus (since March 2003 and re-elected in February 2008) who will be replaced by his elected successor on 7 March 2013.



Back to Czech Republic Index »