Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Comoros: Country and Foreign Investment

Executive Summary

This page was last updated on 5 August 2019.

The Comoro Islands (usually known as the Comoros) had a troubled start to life as an independent nation, with political instability holding back its development. The government is putting in place a legal framework designed to attract foreign investment in agriculture, fishing and especially tourism (an industry with much potential in this largely unspoiled group of tropical islands.) In addition, the Economic Citizenship Programme, which enables foreign investors to obtain Comorian citizenship in return for a commitment to invest in the country.

The Comoros is a member of the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa, whose other members are Burundi, D.R. Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Seychelles, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The country  also belongs to the Organization of Islamic Conference, Arab League and Indian Ocean Commission.



Back to Comoros Index »