Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Cayman Islands: Double Tax Treaties

Other Tax Information Exchange Agreements

This page was last updated on 1 July 2019.

The first steps towards tax information exchange agreements (TIEAs) was taken in March 2009, when the Cayman Islands government put in place arrangements to provide access to comprehensive tax information assistance with 20 countries including the majority of Cayman’s major trading partners.

The Cayman Islands also had eight bilateral tax information agreements at this time, which included recent agreements with the Nordic countries. At this stage, the Cayman Islands’ tax information exchange network covered four of the seven G-7 states and seventeen of the 30 OECD member states.

In June 2009, a double tax agreement with the UK facilitating tax information exchange along OECD standards was signed by Stephen Timms, then Financial Secretary to the Treasury and McKeeva Bush, leader of government business in the Cayman Islands.

The Cayman Islands landmark 12th tax information exchange agreement was signed with New Zealand in August 2009, moving the jurisdiction onto the ‘whitelist’ of countries that have ‘substantially implemented’ the OECD’s internationally agreed tax standard. Since then, the number of TIEAs that Cayman has in force has proliferated.

The full list of 31 jurisdictions that the Caymans has a TIEA in force with is:

Argentina, Aruba, Australia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Faroe Islands, Finland, France, Germany, Greenland, Guernsey, Iceland, India, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Japan, Malta, Mexico, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Seychelles, South Africa, Sweden, the UK and the USA.

In addition, TIEAs are pending with Belgium, Brazil, Greece and Qatar.



Back to Cayman Islands Index »