Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Cayman Islands: Country and Foreign Investment


The three Cayman Islands are in the Western Caribbean, 240 km (150 miles) south of Cuba and 265 km (167 miles) west-northwest of Jamaica. From largest to smallest, the islands are called Grand Cayman, Cayman Brac and Little Cayman and have a total area of 264 km2 (102 sq. miles). They consist of limestone outcroppings which are the tips of a submarine mountain range called the Cayman Ridge that extends off Cuba's southeast coast to the Misteriosa Bank near Belize. Due to the presence of porous limestone rock there are no rivers, though this accounts for the transparency of the surrounding Caribbean Sea, often to over 37m (120ft).

The islands are surrounded by coral reefs which create ideal conditions for divers and anglers. Grand Cayman is 35km (22 miles) long and 13km (8 miles). Cayman Brac is the most scenic island with a large bluff running west to east along the island and rising to 43m (140 ft) at the eastern tip, ending in a sheer cliff. Cayman Brac is only 19km (12 miles) long and slightly over a mile wide. Little Cayman, west of Cayman Brac, is the smallest island at 26 km2 10 sq. miles.

The climate is warm and humid although cooled by trade winds. Average temperatures are at 24°C (75°F) in January and 28°C (82°F) in July. The average annual precipitation is 1425mm (56 inches)  with September and October being the wettest months.

There are international airports on Grand Cayman and Cayman Brac, with in the region of nine major airlines serving US and European cities. A direct flight from Miami to Cayman (daily) takes just over one hour.



Back to Cayman Islands Index »