Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Canada: Double Tax Treaties

Other International Agreements

As at November 2012, Canada has signed tax information exchange agreements (TIEA) with Anguilla, Aruba, the Bahamas, Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, Costa Rica, Dominica, Guernsey, Isle of Man, Jersey, Netherlands Antilles, San Marino, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Turks and Caicos Islands. Canada is negotiating TIEAs with Antigua and Barbuda, Bahrain, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Cook Islands, Gibraltar, Grenada, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Monserrat, Panama, Uruguay and Vanuatu.

Canada is party to the North American Free Trade Agreement, under which traders can enter the United States and Mexico to conduct trade in goods and services, and also to allow investors to enter the US and Mexico to develop and direct a company in which they own at least a 50% interest, or maintain a controlling interest. Certain employees of traders and investors may also be allowed to enter the US and Mexico under the agreement.

Canada has also entered into free trade agreements (FTAs) with Panama, Jordan, Colombia, Peru, the European Free Trade Association, Costa Rica, Chile, and Israel. Other FTAs are under negotiation. In addition, Canada has entered into foreign investment promotion and protection agreements with over 30 countries, with others in the pipeline, as well as various trade and investment co-operation agreements, trade and economic co-operation agreements, and memoranda of understanding.



Back to Canada Index »