Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Canada: Country and Foreign Investment


Canada is a parliamentary democracy, a federation, and a commonwealth realm. The head of state is the British monarch, Queen Elizabeth II, who is represented in her absence by the Governor General. The country’s parliament consists of the Senate, which has 105 seats (with members appointed by the Governor General under the advice of the serving Prime Minister), and the House of Commons, which has 308 seats, members of which are elected by popular vote to serve a maximum of five years. The most recent elections in the House of Commons were on May 2, 2011. The next will be held no later than October 19, 2015.

The leader of the majority party in the House of Commons is automatically designated as the country’s Prime Minister, who then has authority over Federal Ministry appointments. The current Prime Minister is Stephen Harper after his party, the Conservatives, won a 39.6% majority. He has been serving as Prime Minister since February 2006.

The legal system is based on civil law. The court system consists of the Supreme Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Canada, the Federal Court of Appeal, and individual Provincial Courts.



Back to Canada Index »