Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Bulgaria: Country and Foreign Investment


The National Assembly of Bulgaria comprises 240 Deputies, elected every four years. A party (or coalition) must obtain 4% of the vote to be represented in parliament. The Bulgarian parliament is the supreme power in the country and makes executive decisions on all major government policies and issues.

The Prime Minister is Boyko Borissov (since 2009) and the President is Rosen Plevneliev (since January 2012). The President is elected for a term of five years.

Ministers, including the Prime Minister, are appointed by Parliament. The President is the head of state and has the power of veto over Parliament, though this can be overturned by a majority vote in the National Assembly.

The legal system is overseen by the Supreme Judicial Council and has 25 members. The judicial system has three tiers of judiciary, namely trial, appellate and cassation. The Supreme Administrative Court and the Supreme Court of Cassation are the courts of appeal. There is a Constitutional Court that is outwith the main umbrella of the judiciary as a whole.



Back to Bulgaria Index »