Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Brunei: Country and Foreign Investment


Brunei lies on the north coast of the island of Borneo and is bound by the South China Sea and insular Malaysia. The total land area is of 5,769 square kilometres. Brunei is close to vital sea lanes running through the South China Sea linking the Indian and Pacific Oceans.

Brunei is renowned for its beautiful landscape. The climate is tropical. The capital is Bandar Seri Begawan and there are four administrative districts: Belait, Brunei and Muara, Temburong and Tutong. The port town is Muara and the oil producing areas are Seria and Kuala Belait.

A flat coastal plain rises to mountains in the east; in the west there is hilly lowland. The country consists of two parts physically separated by a finger of Malaysian territory. 97% of the population lives in the larger western part, and only about 10,000 live in the mountainous eastern part, the district of Temburong. Brunei's major natural resources are petroleum, natural gas and timber.



Back to Brunei Index »