Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

British Virgin Islands: Country and Foreign Investment


The British Virgin Islands comprise 36 islands in the Caribbean sea of which only 16 are inhabited. The islands are located about 80 kilometres east of Puerto Rico, north of the Leeward Islands and adjacent to the US Virgin Islands. The aggregate land area of the island group is 153 square kilometres. The principal islands are Tortola, Virgin Gorda, Anegada and Jost Van Dyke.

Generally the coral islands are relatively flat and the volcanic islands are steep and hilly with the highest point being 521 metres at Mount Sage. The climate is sub-tropical, but the humidity and high temperatures are tempered by cooling trade winds.

The island of Tortola (land of turtle doves) is the largest of the British Virgin Islands situated about 130 kms east of Puerto Rico overlooking Sir Francis Drake Channel, and has Road Town, the capital, and the international airport (Beef Island). Frequent scheduled flights operate to Puerto Rico. Time is (US) Eastern Standard Time.

Little Forest National Park, a 36-acre wildlife sanctuary on Virgin Gorda was once the site of a Spanish fort whose stone walls are still evident. The Coppermine on the southwest tip of the island was mined by Cornish miners between 1838 and 1867 and the mine shafts remain today. Gorda Peak National Park contains a variety of indigenous plants and has been reafforested with mahogany trees. An intriguing group of giant granite boulders form a beach known as "the Baths" which are a series of spectacular pools and grottoes flooded with sea water.



Back to British Virgin Islands Index »