Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Botswana: Country and Foreign Investment


The bi-cameral Parliament consists of the House of Chiefs (a largely advisory 15-member body consisting of the chiefs of the eight principal tribes, four elected subchiefs, and three members selected by the other 12 members) and the 57-seat National Assembly in which members serve five-year terms.

National Assembly elections were last held in 2009. The Botswana Democratic Party won 45 seats and the Botswana National Front won 6 seats. The next elections are due to be held in 2014.

The head of state and head of government is Seretse Khama Ian Khama; his deputy is Vice President Mompati Sebogodi Merafhe. The Cabinet is appointed by the president, who is elected by the National Assembly for a five-year term.

There is a well-developed legal system based on a mixture of civil and common law, as well as African tribal customary law. There is a High Court and a Court of Appeal. There are Magistrates' Courts in administrative districts.



Back to Botswana Index »