Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Botswana: Country and Foreign Investment


This page was last updated on 10 Apr 2019.


The former British protectorate of Bechuanaland became Botswana on gaining independence in 1966. The country has an area of 600,000 sq. km and is bordered by Namibia, South Africa and Zimbabwe. Botswana has warm winters and hot summers. The landscape is predominantly flat with gently rolling tableland. the Kalahari Desert lies in the southwest of the country and the Makgadikgadi Salt Pan in the north-east is one of the largest in the world.

The country is very rich in natural resources: these include diamonds, copper, nickel, salt, soda ash, potash, coal, iron ore and silver. There are between 9 and 12 daily flights in either direction between the capital Gaborone and Johannesburg, the major aviation hub on the continent. Travelling time is 1 hour.



Back to Botswana Index »