Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Belize: Double Tax Treaties

Other International Agreements

This page was last updated on 16 April 2021.

IIn January 2006, six Caricom member states formally signed a declaration of their governments' compliance with the provisions of the Treaty establishing the Caricom Single Market and Economy (CSM).

The countries, namely Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago, became the first six Caricom countries to have signed on to the single market.

Heads of government signed a document entitled 'Declaration by Heads of Government of the Caribbean Community marking the coming into being of the Caricom Single Market'. These Member States entered into Single Market arrangements on 1 January 2006.

Secretary-General Edwin Carrington described the launch of the Single Market as an "historic and unprecedented step" in the regional integration process, and a new dimension that will change the way the people of the region live and work. He urged the region to be "fully prepared" for the challenge that came with the launch of the CSM.

Caricom’s Assistant Secretary-General for Human and Social Development, Dr Edward Greene, commented that the free movement of goods, services, capital and persons would be an opportunity for Caricom nationals "to make the Caribbean one market that would work for individuals irrespective of their country of origin."

In April 2007, Chief Justice of Belize, Abdulai Conteh, and the President of the Central American Court of Justice, Dr Ricardo Acevedo Peralta, signed a Cooperation Agreement between the Supreme Court of Belize and the Central American Court of Justice. The government of Belize has said that the purpose of the Agreement is to institutionalize inter-jurisdictional relations, develop juridical integration processes in the region and foster wider cooperation.

The Central American Court of Justice is an international court established by five Central American states, including Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua, in 1907. It was dissolved in 1918 and re-established in 1962 by the Organization of Central American States. Its primary purpose is to promote peace and unity between member states and in the region generally.



Back to Belize Index »