Lowtax Network

Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Austria: Country and Foreign Investment


Austria is a federal republic made up of nine states (Bundesländer). The National Council (Nationalrat) is made up of 183 directly elected members. In addition, there is the Federal Council (Bundesrat) to which members are appointed by the states.

Elections for the head of state take place every six years, while elections for the National Council take place every four years. The last parliamentary election took place in 2008 and no political party received more than 30% of the national vote.

Presidential elections were last held in April 2010 and the then president, Heinz Fischer, secured a second term.



Back to Austria Index »