Back To Top

Your Lowtax Account

Slovakia: Country and Foreign Investment


Slovakia is situated in central Europe, bordered by five countries – Hungary, Ukraine, Poland, Austria and the Czech Republic. It has an area of 48,845 sq km and is landlocked. The central and northern regions of the country are mountainous, rising to over 2,600 metres. Slovakia has a temperate climate, with warm summers and moderate winters. Increasingly, winter sports are popular in the Slovakian mountains, notably at Donovaly and Chopok. The capital, Bratislava, sits on the River Danube and has a population of 455,000; it is the political and economic heart of the country. Natural resources include brown coal, small amounts of iron ore, copper and manganese ore.



Back to Slovakia Index raquo;